New Directors at Bigelow Institute

Leo Ruickbie has been appointed one of the new directors of the Bigelow Institute of Consciousness Studies (BICS).

Founded in 2020 by entrepreneur Robert Bigelow, the Bigelow Institute for Consciousness Studies launched itself onto the world stage with a highly successful and internationally reported essay contest to discover the best evidence for the survival of consciousness after the physical death of the body.

Leo Ruickbie was one of the top three winners in the contest and now joins several fellow prize winners and other leading authorities in their respective fields to take a leading role in guiding the Bigelow Institute.

New Board of Directors for BICS Announced

The full line-up comprises, in alphabetical order:

Dr Julie Beischel – co-founder and Director of Research at the Windbridge Research Center.

Dr Katrina Burrus – one of the world’s leading experts on international leadership.

Nick Cook – best-selling writer.

Dr Jeffrey Kripal – J. Newton Rayzor Chair in Philosophy and Religious Thought at Rice University.

Elizabeth Krohn – co-author, with Jeffrey Kripal, of Changed in a Flash, the story of her NDE.

Dr Jeffrey Long – founder of the Near-Death Experience Research Foundation (

Dr Jeffrey Mishlove – first prize winner of the Bigelow Institute essay contest, and host and producer of the New Thinking Allowed channel on YouTube.

Dr Sharon Hewitt Rawlette – philosopher, writer and a supporting researcher for the International Centre for Reincarnation Research.

Dr Leo Ruickbie, FRHistS, FRAI – Visiting Fellow in Psychology, University of Northampton.

Dr Helané Wahbeh – Director of Research at the Institute of Noetic Sciences.

Full details have been published on the website.