The Shortlist

Capturing the Spirit of the Paranormal: The Paranormal Review Photography Competition Shortlist

Earlier this year I launched a competition to find the photograph that best captures the ‘spirit’ of the paranormal. The emphasis was on aesthetics rather than evidence, since the purpose was not to prove the paranormal in any way, but to represent it.

A total of 60 entrants submitted 189 images. From these, a shortlist was drawn up of the strongest works.

The shortlist comprises 16 entrants, all of whom submitted exceptional photographs. They are, in alphabetical order:

Leigh Anderson

Robert Ansley

Rebecca Belliveau

Jonathan Bright

Mark Caldon

Cal Cooper

Laverne Craven

Maria Kalfopoulou

Markus Kappeler

Kon Markogiannis

Kai Mügge

Michael Potts

Alan O’Regan

Vitor Rodrigues

Jose Rosello

Lucius Werthmüller

Shortlisted entries were then judged by the competition’s expert panel of, again in alphabetical order, Andreas Fischer, Dr Michael Pritchard FRPS, Dr Tom Ruffles ARPS, Dr Leo Ruickbie, Shannon Taggart and Dr Melvyn Willin.

The finalists will be announced later this week ahead of the announcement of the winner and runners-up on Friday, 1 September, at the Society for Psychical Research’s annual conference being held at the De Vere Horsley Estate, Leatherhead, Surrey, UK.

Look out for further announcements and full coverage of the competition in the Paranormal Review, the magazine of the Society for Psychical Research.